Texas Defensive Driving

Defensive Driving and Point/Insurance Reduction Courses

Texas Defensive Driving

Driver Safety Course Request Guidelines for Texas Motorists

Drivers who want to dismiss a traffic violation can take the Defensive Driver Safety Course (DSC). If the offense occurred when operating a motorcycle, that individual could instead take the Motorcycle Operator Training Course (MOTC). It gives you a second chance to receive a break on citation fees.

Defensive Driving Course Eligibility

Anyone who hasn’t signed up for the Driver Safety Course within the past 12 months can participate. Furthermore, individuals not currently enrolled in another course because of a traffic violation can register.

Persons not eligible for the DSC course include the following:

  • An officer ticketed you for speeding more than 25 mph above the speed limit.
  • You show no sign of financial responsibility or you have no automobile insurance.
  • You left the scene of a crash and/or did not report an accident.
  • You passed a school bus or received a citation in a construction zone.
  • If you have a CDL, you cannot take a defensive course to dismiss fines.
  • You already received DSC training once within the past 12 months.

If you were cited for any of the following, you are not eligible to take defensive driving for that violation.

  • Speeding 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit
  • No insurance or failure to maintain financial responsibility
  • Leaving the scene of a collision
  • Passing a School Bus, or
  • If you were cited while driving in a Construction Zone.
  • If you have a commercial driver’s license you are not eligible to take defensive driving

How to Register for the Driver Safety Course

You must request permission to attend the DSC before the deadline posted on your traffic citation. The same is true if you want to attend the MOTC training for motorcyclists. However, you also need to request a copy of your Texas driving records.

Use these steps to request course permission and driving records:

  1. Request permission to register for the DSC or MOTC. You do not have to talk to a prosecutor or set up a docket appearance before you do. However, you must take action before it’s too late.
  2. Go to court on or before date on traffic ticket. You can do this by physically going to a court location. Otherwise, you can send a piece of mail referring to the green ticket labeled Driver Safety Course. Follow all instructions carefully in the process, and ask questions about course completion if necessary. Please see “Additional Driver Safety Class Registration Steps” as shown in the next section of this document. (Scroll down to view.)
  3. Complete the course within 90 days. This period starts from the time you first receive permission to take the Driver Safety Course. Otherwise, it’s a deadline set by the court you must meet in order to complete the class in time.
  4. Retrieve your driving record. You also must complete this action within 90 days. You can request a copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety. The request form for this will be given to you either in person or by mail, depending upon how you registered for the DSC. You can also find it at this link: http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/internetforms/Forms/DR-1.pdf
  5. Pay the $10 fee for requesting your driving record. It costs $10.00 to file this form. Pay this amount to the Texas Department of Safety. Otherwise, you can order this documentation online at http://www.texas.gov. Go to this link to start the online process:
  6. Show proof of driving record to the court. You must do this within the prescribed 90-day deadline. You can do this while attempting to request permission to take the Drive Safety Course.

Additional Driver Safety Class Registration Steps

You must request permission to take the DSC course in person or by mail. When doing so, make sure you follow the instruction shown to you on the green sheet the officer gave you when you received a citation. If you were the one who the officer ticketed, you are the only one who can request permission for the class by filling out the Affidavit form.

Follow through with these steps on or before the take on your traffic ticket:

  1. Fill out, submit and notarize the Affidavit. You can find this document here.
  2. Provide proof that you have a valid Texas driver’s license.
  3. Pay the court administrative fee. It usually is $134.10 for speeding in a school zone, or it is $109.10 for other speeding violations.
  4. Provide proof of automobile insurance. A copy of your insurance policy, your insurance card or a certificate proving you have coverage will suffice.
  5. Wait for response. If you meet the above-mentioned criteria, the court will more than likely grant you permission to take the Driver Safety Course. You will receive notification by mail or in person.

Court Information and Course Completion Time

You have 90 days to provide the court with proof of driver training completion plus submit the notarized Affidavit. If you fail to meet these conditions, you might have to appear in the court or pay the remainder of the fine you owe, which usually is $150.00. A hearing notice will be mailed to the address listed on your citation unless you request an address change.

How to Prove Completion of DSC Training

If you want to prove you completed the Driver Safety Course, bring the proof to the court who issued the citation. Otherwise, you could mail the original course completion certificate. Either way, you have to make sure it arrives to the courthouse within the 90-day period allotted. This period starts from the moment you sign the Driving Safety Course Request Affidavit.

Texas Education Agency Approved Defensive Driving Course


Texas Defensive Driving